Core Curriculum

Common Core Curriculum Standards

The Willow School has adopted the Common Core Curriculum Standards as a template for the skills and content our students need to know at each grade level. These are incorporated into the school curriculum and assessments each chld receives twice annually. These standards have been adopted by 45 states. When Willow students leave us, they will be prepared for and in alignment with other schools around the nation.

What are The Common Core State Standards?

The Common Core Standards offer a framework- a set of skills- designed to prepare children for college and the workplace. These are based on and incorporate the highest, most effective models from the United States and other countries. The Standards provide teachers and parents with guidelines of what students are expected to learn and are consistent across the country.

The Common Core State Standards allow for uniformity by creating a document of skills and expectations for K-12 education across the United States. The Standards were designed to ensure American children are receiving the best, most effective teaching and learning possible.

How was it started?

The Common Core Standards began as an initiative on the state level and was then coordinated by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). The standards were subsequently developed with input from educational professionals including: teachers, school administrators, postsecondary educators, civil rights groups and disability advocates along with input from the public.


  • Are aligned with college and work expectations
  • Are clear, understandable and consistent
  • Include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills;
  • Build upon strengths and lessons of current state standards;
  • Are informed by other top performing countries, so that all students are prepared to succeed in our global economy and society; and
  • are evidence-based

Learn more about the Common Core Standards: Core Standards Website